To be the industry’s premier organization providing best practices for safe, efficient, and environmentally friendly aircraft operations, serving aircraft performance, flight operations and weight and balance professionals.


To promote the science and profession of aircraft performance, weight and balance and flight operations engineering by engaging, compiling, encouraging, enhancing and disseminating knowledge and best practices worldwide, for the continuous education and improvement of the aviation industry.

Value Proposition


  • Have access to the latest and greatest information related to Flight Operations, Aircraft Performance and Weight and Balance subjects
  • Learn about new and emerging technologies that support Flight Operations, Aircraft Performance
    and Weight and Balance
    o Network with other members via conferences, committees, SAPOE website and other
    communication formats
  • Participate with students, young professionals, industry experts and members of the public to
    promote the science and profession around the globe
  • Have access to job opportunities specific to our membership interests
  • Have fun!


  • OEMs, Regulators, Civil Airplane Operators, Airports and Service providers will benefit by having more capable professionals in Aircraft Performance, Flight Operations and Weight and Balance areas
  • Professionals more oriented to the continued improvement of flight safety and efficiency fostered by SAPOE
  • Have access to global talent pool experts
  • Expert knowledge base on complicated topics when assisting Regulators and ANSPs with complex changes
  • One stop shop for airports and ANSPs to discuss complex airside and airspace changes

Public / Community

  • Improved flight safety
  • Enhanced passenger experiences (comfort, economics, efficiency)
  • More environmental friendly solutions (eg lower noise, CO2 and NOx emissions)


Officers of the Society of Aircraft Performance and Operations Engineers are elected to serve two-year terms. Elections are held at annual conventions. Officers may be contacted via email at [email protected]

Kristine Henning


Craig Nordstrom

Craig Nordstrom


John Gadzinski

John Gadzinski


David Anvid

David Anvid



David Sorrell


Walt Blake

Walt Blake


eduardo aguilar

Eduardo Aguilar

Digital Overlord

Committee Representatives

Tiger Team

The objective of the committee is to create a collaborative environment for discussion regarding all aspects related to AC120-27F. This has led to work on the creation of Recommended Practices (RP) for the collection of carry-on and checked bag survey data (in partnership with SAWE) and the analysis of the CDC NHANES body weight data.

Chairs: Kristine Henning & Charles Ostick

Lion Team

The Lion Team was created to “Develop standards (not algorithms) for aircraft friction recording and reporting technologies.” This task was accomplished in 2019. The new standard lists the term for the function of reporting aircraftfriction as an “Aircraft Braking Action Report,” with the acronym “ABAR” now commonly used in technical documents.

Finally, for this effort to gain industry recognition and acceptance, a follow-on objective of establishing a means for an ISO 17065 compliant standards certification was required. This was achieved in 2018 through the creation of the E17.26 Aircraft Friction subcommittee in the E17 Vehicle – Pavement Systems committee
of the ASTM standards agency. The Lion Team enjoys the formal role of Technical Working Group and it responsible for the creation and submission of standards work.

Chair: John Gadzinski


Jaguar Team

The Jaguar Team objective is to establish and identify multiple sources of data, understand the regulatory challenges faced by the controlling agencies in allowing full access to those data, and identify a sustainable path moving forward to allow all users access to the data.

Chairs: Chris Hill & Jay Leitner

Emeritus Members

These members have served as Officers of SAPOE in the past or have greatly contributed to the advancement of the society.

Roy Maxwell

Roy Maxwell

President 2009-2012

Brian Chapman​

Brian Chapman

Vice-President 2009-2010

Ravin Agarwal

Ravin Agarwal

Secretary 2009-2016

Mike Byham

Mike Byham​

President 2015-2018
Treasurer 2009-2014

Paul Giesman

Paul Giesman

President 2013-2014
Vice-President 2011-2012


Jorge Lasso

Vice-President 2013-2014

Kristine Henning​

Kristine Henning

Secretary 2017-2018

Jack Wilschke

Jack Wilschke

Treasurer 2015-2018

Paul Hannah, President

Paul Hannah

President 2019-2021

Dave Green

Dave Green

Vice-President 2015-2018

Roesney Santos, Secretary

Roesney Santos

Secretary 2019-2021

Mignon Hoover

Mignon Hoover

Treasurer 2019-2022